Fri 27.10.2023 at 19:00
 (Estonia puiestee 4, Tallinn)


Helena Tulve
Heartland for piano and orchestra

György Ligeti

Kaija Saariaho
Ciel d’hiver

Jānis Petraškevičs
Dead Wind

Galina Ustvolskaya
Symphony No. 3

LEMBIT PETERSON narrator, ERSO, conductor and pianist MICHAEL WENDEBERG

This year, the AFEKT festival focuses on the idea of ​​a border state both geographically and as an expression of ideas refined to an extreme in music. Next to the works of Galina Ustvolskaya, who is testing the limits of avant-garde music, and György Ligeti, who is celebrating his 100th birthday, the works of Jānis Petraškevičs, the most internationally recognized Latvian of his generation, and Helena Tulve, an Estonian composer with an expanding radius of international activity will be performed. As a tribute to the recently departed great figure of modern music, the Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho, her work Ciel d’hiver will be performed. The concert will be conducted by renowned contemporary music conductor Michael Wendeberg, who has, among other things, been the pianist of the new music flagship Ensemble intercontemporain and collaborated with Pierre Boulez.

Concert organisers ERSO and AFEKT festival

Read more

Follow us

Sale has ended